Music Review: I Need A Doctor

Posted: February 4, 2011 in Music
Tags: , , , ,

Currently atop the iTunes chart, is a song produced by Alex Da Kid and Dr. Dre, its Dre’s first single off Detox, featuring Eminem and Skylar Grey.  For those of you who have not heard it, I can probably put the whole thing into a nutshell.

First off, I’d like to give props to Skylar Grey, who has sounded brilliant once again, she’s the girl who sang this chorus, along with Diddy’s I’m Coming Home.  She deserves a Grammy sometime, because her voice is more mellifluous than everyone’s.  They are just pale in comparison.

What struck me as odd, is Eminem got two verse, and Dre only got one.  Eminem raps about how his mentor, Dr. Dre, really needs to wake up and put out some music.  He also thanks him numerous times “you picked me up, breathed new life in me” and “I don’t think you realize what you mean to me, not the slightest clue”, all in all, Eminem hit another high note, which is all he’s hit since the release of Recovery.

Dr. Dre with best friend, fellow rapper, Marshall Mathers

When will Detox drop? Eminem raps about how Dre needs to step it up, and that’s just about what he does in his closing verse, which I didn’t appreciate at first.  Dr. Dre will forever be a legend, but at the very end he says “one more CD, and then I am packing up my bags.” I hope that is just a figure of speech.

Dr. Dre said that Detox will drop on 4/20, albeit his associate denied all talks of that, I guess we’ll have to wait and see.  I give this song a 9/10, seeing as it was indeed amazing, but Dre’s verse just wasn’t “great” for me.

Comments
  1. MusicLover58 says:

    Hey, I like the article a lot, great job. Im about to lose my mind since the doctors been gone for so long! (;

Leave a Reply

